Subscribe to Blog via Email

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 633 other subscribers

Diwali is the most significant religious festival among Hindus. Diwali, which is also known as Deepavali, is also known as the festival of lights. The festival spiritually signifies the victory of light over darkness, knowledge over ignorance, good over evil and hope over despair. At most places Diwali is celebrated for five days.

Diwali is festivals of lights .Diwali is very auspicious festival which is celebrated in every corner of world with a great pomp and show by all the Hindus. Diwali is a festival of lights symbolizing the victory of righteousness and the lifting of spiritual darkness. The festival of diwali gives an important message to all of us that “There will be always victory of righteousness and the lifting of spiritual darkness”.

Diwali Puja Vidhi – How To Do Narak Chaturdashi Puja on Diwali Festival | Diya, Lakshmi Puja Vidhi

Place silver statues of Goddess Lakshmi and Lord Ganesha in the West zone to remove hindrances and enhance financial prospects.

This year, Diwali will be celebrated on October 19.

Diwali Puja should be done at an appropriate Diwali Puja Muhurat while considering fixed Lagna, Pradosh time and Amavasya Tithi. A complete Diwali Puja involves following Puja(s).

  1. Atma-Shodhan

    (आत्म-शोधन) – which is known as self-purification.

  2. Sankalp

    (सङ्कल्प) – which is solemn vow to perform Diwali Puja rituals.

  3. Shanti-Patha

    (शान्ति-पाठ) – Shanti Patha Mantra is recited to bring peace, happiness and prosperity in everyone’s life.

  4. Mangal-Patha

    (मङ्गल-पाठ) – which is recited to fulfil wishes in everyone’s life.

  5. Kalash-Sthapana

    (कलश-स्थापन) – detailed Puja Vidhi of Kalash Sthapana

  6. Bhagawan Ganapati Puja

    (गणपति पूजा) – Sankshipt five steps Ganesha Pujan Vidhi

  7. Nav-Graha Puja

    (नव-ग्रह पूजा) – Sankshipt Navagraha Pujan

  8. Shodasha Matrika-Puja

    (षोडश मातृका-पूजा) – Sankshipt Shodasha Matrika Pujan

  9. New Ganesha Pratima Puja

    (भगवान गणेश की नवीन मूर्ति की पूजा) – Shodashopachara Puja of Shri Ganesha

  10. New Shri-Lakshmi Pratima Puja

    (श्रीलक्ष्मी की नवीन मूर्ति की पूजा) – Shodashopachara Puja of Shri Lakshmi

  11. Maha Kali Puja

    (लेखनी-दावात पर महा-काली पूजा) – Maha-Kali Puja on Lekhani-Dawat

  12. Saraswati Puja

    (बही-खाते पर सरस्वती पूजा) – Saraswati Puja on Bahi-Khata

  13. Kuber Puja

    (तिजोरी-बक्से पर श्रीकुबेर पूजा) – Shri Kuber-Puja on Tijori-Baksa

  14. Deep-Malika Puja

    (दीप-मालिका पूजा) – all necessary Puja steps for Deep-Malika Puja Vidhi

  15. Visarjan

    (विसर्जन) – formal conclusion of Diwali Puja with Prayer

All above Puja(s) are done with full rituals. As full Diwali Puja might take hours to finish and available Lakshmi Puja Muhurat might be too short to perform all Puja(s), Diwali Puja can begin before Lakshmi Puja Muhurat so that Lakshmi Puja time coincides with the available Muhurat time. The remaining Puja can continue after Lakshmi Puja beyond the Muhurat time.

It should be taken care that the Deepak lit during Diwali Puja continues to light throughout the night. After Puja it is suggested to read Shri-Sukta, Lakshmi-Sukta and other Stutis of Shri Lakshmi. If possible a full-night vigil dedicated for Shri Lakshmi Stuti is also recommended.


Diwali Puja Vidhi – Pooja Samagri

IndiaHints Team

IndiaHints Team is your News and Opinion provider at We love our country and promise every reader we will keep India's Interest at Top.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.